August 31 in Cardinals History

This Date in Cardinals History


Cardinals Owner Bill DeWitt, Jr. born on this date in 1941. 


Transactions History

The Cardinals selected Irv Noren off waivers in 1957 from the Kansas City Athletics.

Cardinals traded Clay Carroll to the Chicago White Sox in 1977 for players to be named later. The Chicago White Sox sent Nyls Nyman (September 2, 1977), Dave Hamilton (November 28, 1977) and Silvio Martinez (November 28, 1977) to the St. Louis Cardinals to complete the trade.

Cardinals traded Tito Landrum to the Baltimore Orioles for Floyd Rayford in 1983. 

In 1992, the Cardinals released Jose DeLeon.

The  Yankees traded Rich Batchelor to the Cardinals for Lee Smith in 1993. 

The Phillies sent Russell Branyan to the Cardinals as part of a conditional deal in 2007.



Fred Gaiser 1885

Murphy Currie 1893

Ira Hutchinson 1910

Mays Copeland 1913

Danny Litwiller 1916

Tracy Stallard 1937

Boots Day 1947

Stan Royer 1967

Dennis Dove 1981

Matt Adams 1988



Walter Morris 1908

Murphy Currie 1916

Cy Warmoth 1916


Roy Parmalee 1981