December 13 in Cardinals History

Trading History and Transactions

1913– The Cardinals traded Bob Harmon, Mike Mowrey and Ed Konetchy to the Pirates for Dots Miller, Hank Robinson, Cozy Dolan, Art Butler and Owen Wilson.

1927– The St. Louis Cardinals traded Jimmy Ring and Johnny Schulte to the Philadelphia Phillies for Jimmy Cooney, Bubber Jonnard and Johnny Mokan

1928– The Philadelphia Phillies traded Heinie Sand and $10,000 to the St. Louis Cardinals for Tommy Thevenow

1930– The St. Louis Cardinals purchased George Sisler from the Boston Braves

1934– The Cincinnati Reds purchased Johnny Mize from the St. Louis Cardinals

1938– The Brooklyn Dodgers traded Lew Krausse and cash to the St. Louis Cardinals for Jimmy Outlaw

1961– The Houston Colt .45’s purchased Al Cicotte from the St. Louis Cardinals.

1969 -Curt Flood attends the Players’ Association executive board meeting to seek financial assistance in his attempt to sue major league baseball on the grounds that the reserve clause violates Federal antitrust laws. Although skeptical about the outcome of the suit, the player reps vote 25-0 to support the recently traded outfielder, who refuses to report to the Phillies after being dealt by the Cardinals.


1974– The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Mick Kelleher from the Houston Astros

1984– December 13, 1984: The St. Louis Cardinals returned Mike LaValliere to the Philadelphia Phillies as part of a conditional deal.

1989- The St. Louis Cardinals signed Frank DiPino as a free agent.

1990- The St. Louis Cardinals signed Gerald Perry as a free agent.

1991-The St. Louis Cardinals traded Clyde Keller (minors) to the New York Mets for Chuck Carr

2002– The St. Louis Cardinals signed Chris Carpenter as a free agent.

2003– The St. Louis Cardinals traded J.D. Drew and Eli Marrero to the Atlanta Braves for Ray King, Jason Marquis and Adam Wainwright.

In 2013, the Cardinals trade Magneuris Sierra, Zac Gallen, Daniel Castano, and Sandy Alcantara to the Miami Marlins for Marcell Ozuna.


Jack Taylor (1873)

Lindy McDaniel (1935)

Ron Taylor (1937)

Dave Hamilton (1947)