December 5 in Cardinals History

Cardinals History on this Date

1926– Catcher Bob Farrell is named NL MVP, Later in December, he is named the manager to replace Rogers Hornsby.

1940- The New York Giants purchased Bob Bowman from the St. Louis Cardinals

1941- The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Debs Garms from the Pittsburgh Pirates

1946- The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Tommy O’Brien from the Pittsburgh Pirates

1955– Ellis Kinder is selected off waivers by the Cardinals from the Boston Red Sox.  During his eight seasons in Boston, the 41-year-old right-hander posted an 86-52 record with an earned run average of 3.28.

1957– The Cardinals acquire Curt Flood from the Reds, along with Joe Taylor, in exchange for Marty Kutyna, Willard Schmidt and Ted Wieand. The deal, one of the few ever mandated by team owner Gussie Busch, proves to be very beneficial for the Redbirds when their new 19-year-old player develops into an All-Star Gold Glove center fielder, who will play a pivotal role in the club capturing two world championships and an NL pennant during his 12-year reign in St. Louis.

1967– Stan Musial resigns his one and only season as the Cardinals General Manager and is replaced, Bing Devine. Musial stays with the organization as senior vice president and consultant.

1969- The Oakland Athletics purchased Mudcat Grant from the St. Louis Cardinals.

1969- The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Bill Dillman from the Baltimore Orioles

1973- The Los Angeles Dodgers traded Pete Richert to the St. Louis Cardinals for Tommie Agee

1977- The Chicago White Sox traded Jim Otten to the St. Louis Cardinals for Stan Butkus

1978- The New York Mets traded Tom Grieve and Kim Seaman to the St. Louis Cardinals for Pete Falcone.

2018The Cardinals trade Carson Kelly, Luke Weaver, and Andy Young along with a pick in the Competitive Balance Draft to the Diamondbacks for Paul Goldschmidt.


  1. Patsy Tebeau (1864)
  2. Mike Mahoney (1873)
  3. Carey Selph (1901)
  4. Gus Mancuso (1905)
  5. Don Padgett (1911)
  6. Jack Urban (1928)
  7. Mike Mahoney (1972)