January 15 in Cardinals History

1981- Receiving 337 votes of the 401 BBWAA ballots cast (84%) in his first year of eligibility, Cardinal right-hander Bob Gibson is the only player elected to the Hall of Fame this year. Players falling short of the votes needed include well-known Dodgers Don Drysdale and Gil Hodges as well as Twins slugger Harmon Killebrew.


  • Grover Loudermilk 1885
  • Bob Sadowski 1937
  • Luis Alvarado 1949
  • Delino DeShields 1969
  • Ray King 1974
  • Matt Holliday 1980

No TRADES on this Date.