June 1 in Cardinals History

This Date in Cardinals History

The Cardinals purchased Ed Konetchy from La Crosse (Wisconsin State) for $1,000 in 1917.

Miller Huggins in 1910, second baseman, comes to the plate six times in a game and records no official at-bats (four walks, sac hit, sac fly).

The Cardinals purchased Joe Willis in 1911 from the St. Louis Browns.

The St. Louis Cardinals traded Buster Adams, Dain Clay and Coaker Triplett to the Philadelphia Phillies for Danny Litwhiler and Earl Naylor in 1943.

The Cardinals returned Carl Scheib to the Philadelphia Athletics as part of a conditional deal in 1954.

In 1974, the Cardinals traded Luis Alvarado and Ed Crosby to the Cleveland Indians for Jack Heidemann 


  • 1988– The St. Louis Cardinals drafted Brian Jordan in the 1st round (30th pick) of the 1988 amateur draft.
  • 1992– The St. Louis Cardinals drafted Sean Lowe in the 1st round (15th pick) of the 1992 amateur draft.
  • The Cardinals drafted Matt Morris in the 1st round (12th pick) of the 1995 amateur draft. 


The Cardinals signed Mark Quinn as a free agent in 2004.

2011– The Cardinals released Ramon Vazquez.




Ted Breitenstein (June 1, 1869 – May 3, 1935) is known for throwing a no-hitter in his first major league start. He played for the Cardinals in the first two years of existence (1900-1901) and finished 160-170 along with a 4.04 ERA and 887 strikeouts. 

Tom Long (June 1, 1890 – June 15, 1972) played from 1915-1917 with the Cardinals and ended with a .269 batting average, 401 hits and 140 runs batted in. 

Hal Smith  (June 1, 1931 – April 12, 2014) was a standout catcher for the Cardinals during his six years with them. He was the club’s regular receiver from 1956–60, and was selected a National League All-Star in 1957 and 1959. Smith led NL catchers in throwing out would-be base-stealers in both 1959 and 1960, and in caught stealing percentage in 1960. He got sick and complained of chest pains. He as replaced by Tim McCarver from that point on. He hit .258 for his lifetime average. 


Rudy Arroyo 1971

John Stuper 1982

Sam Freeman 2012

Keith Butler 2013



George Watkins 1970

Johnny Hopp 2003