June 13 in Cardinals History

1905– New York hurler Christy Mathewson pitches his second career no-hitter, defeating the Cubs, 1-0. In 1901, 20 year-old ‘Matty’ became the first rookie in the modern era to throw a no-no, holding the Cardinals hitless in the Giants’ 5-0 victory at Robison Field.

1921- Rogers Hornsby hits into a triple play and Les Mann hits two home runs in a 10-1 victory for the Cardinals and Jesse Haines who gets his 6th straight complete game. 

1940– The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Ira Hutchinson from the Brooklyn Dodgers.

1963– The St. Louis Cardinals released Elrod Hendricks.

1964– The St. Louis Cardinals traded Jim Saul (minors) and cash to the Cincinnati Reds for Bob Skinner.

1969– The St. Louis Cardinals traded Dennis Ribant to the Cincinnati Reds for Aurelio Monteagudo

1970– The Houston Astros traded Jim Beauchamp and Leon McFadden to the St. Louis Cardinals for George Culver

1975– The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Mike Wallace from the New York Yankees.

1992– The St. Louis Cardinals released Juan Agosto.

1996– The St. Louis Cardinals signed Gene Stechschulte as an amateur free agent

1997– The St. Louis Cardinals traded Rich Batchelor, Danny Jackson and Mark Sweeney to the San Diego Padres for Scott Livingstone, Phil Plantier and Fernando Valenzuela.

2000– The St. Louis Cardinals traded players to be named later and Juan Acevedo to the Milwaukee Brewers for Fernando Vina. The St. Louis Cardinals sent Eliezer Alfonzo (June 13, 2000) and Matt Parker (minors) (June 13, 2000) to the Milwaukee Brewers to complete the trade.

2002– The St. Louis Cardinals signed Leo Estrella as a free agent.




KavanaughMarty   Marty Kavanaugh (June 13, 1891 – July 28, 1960) played for the Cardinals in 1918 as a second baseman after leaving the Detroit Tigers. In 370 career games he batted .249 with 122 runs batted in and 10 home runs. 




 ScottCoolbaugh  Scott Coolbaugh (1966) played in a Cardinals uniform the last season of his career in 1994. He had 21 at bats with 4 hits and 2 home runs for a .190 batting average.  



Dick Wheeler 1918

Von McDaniel 1957