May 30 in Cardinals History

In 1901, In the afternoon game of a holiday doubleheader, the St. Louis Cardinals defeat the New York Giants 6-5 in 10 innings. An NL record 28,500 fans attend the game.

In 1922, traded between games of a doubleheader, Cliff Heathcote and Max Flack exchange their Cardinal and Cub uniforms, respectively. The pair will both get hits for their new teams in the nightcap.

 Between games of a doubleheader in 1925 against the Pittsburgh at Forbes Field, second baseman Rogers Hornsby, who will continue to be an active player, replaces Branch Rickey as the manager of the Cardinals. Rickey will remain in his role as the team’s general manager, a position he will hold until 1942.

The Cardinals traded Daryl Spencer to the Los Angeles Dodgers for Bob Lillis and Carl Warwick in 1961.

The Cardinals traded Jim Hicks in 1969 to the California Angels for Vic Davalillo.

In 2003, the Cardinals released Nerio Rodriguez.


Mike Donlin (May 30, 1878 – September 24, 1933) played for the Cardinals in their first year (1900) of existence after playing for the Perfectos the season before. He played in 78 games and had 276 at-bats in which he contributed 90 hits for a .323 batting average.

Wally Kimmick (May 30, 1897 – July 24, 1989) was an infielder for the Cardinals as he made his major league debut on September 13, 1919. He batted .261 in his career with one home run and 31 runs batted in. 

Mel Nelson (1936) was a left-handed pitcher that played for the Cardinals two different time. He made his debut in 1960 and then again he was back from 1968-1969. He compiled a 4-10 record with a 4.40 ERA. 

Rico Washington (1978) spent almost ten years in the minor leagues before the Cardinals called him up and he made his major league debut on April 1, 2008. He hit .158 with no homers and 3 runs batted and played his last game April 20, 2008. 

Fernando Salas (1985) the Cardinals were impressed enough to buy Salas’ contract from Saltillo in February 2007. Salas began 2010 in Memphis but was called up to the majors for the first time on May 27, 2010. He made his major league debut the next day, pitching one scoreless inning.

John Brebbia (1990)


Oscar Tuero 1918

Sam Fishburn 1919

Mike Mathews 2000

Joe Mather 2008

Michael Wacha 2013



  • Ed Brown 1942
  • Billy Carle 1946
  • Dick Ward 1966
  • Clarence Heise 1949