November 17 in Cardinals History

November 17th in Cardinals History

In 2008,  Albert Pujols (.357, 37, 116) wins his second Most Valuable Player award of his eight-year major league career. The 28- year-old All-Star first baseman of the fourth-place Cardinals, the only player listed on every ballot, receives 18 of the 32 first-place votes cast by the BBWAA to outpoint runner-up Ryan Howard of the World Champions Phillies, 369-308.



  • George Scott (1895)
  • Orlando Pena (1933)
  • Eli Marrero (1973)