October 11 in Cardinals History

Cardinals History


Baseball Happenings

1964- In Game 4 of the World Series, Ken Boyer’s sixth inning grand slam off Yankee starter Al Downing gives the Cardinals a 4-3 victory over the Yankees. The St. Louis third baseman is the second National Leaguer to hit a postseason bases-loaded round-tripper.
1968- The Cardinals trade outfielder/first baseman Bobby Tolan and right-hander Wayne Granger to the Reds for Vada Pinson. The World Champion Redbirds obtain the former All-Star Gold Glove outfielder to replace Roger Maris, who retired after the season ended.
2003- In Game 4, the Cubs (6) and Marlins (8) tie the NLCS homer record by hitting 14 dingers in the championship series. The mark, which the teams will expand to 23 in the five-game series, was established by the Giants and Cardinals last year.
2012- For the first time since the divisional playoffs began in 1995, all four series will go the distance to a Game 5 when both the Nationals and Orioles knot their respective series against the Cardinals and Yankees. Washington and Baltimore join the A’s and Giants, who also forced a decisive game with victories over the Tigers and Reds in yesterday’s LDS games.

Trades and Transactions

1960- The St. Louis Cardinals released Rocky Bridges.

1960- The St. Louis Cardinals traded a player to be named later, Cal Browning, Leon Wagner and cash to Toronto (International) for Al Cicotte. The St. Louis Cardinals sent Ellis Burton (January 26, 1961) to Toronto (International) to complete the trade.

1961- The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Ozzie Virgil from the Kansas City Athletics.

1962- The St. Louis Cardinals released Hal Smith.

1968- The St. Louis Cardinals traded Tommy Smith (minors) and Johnny Edwards to the Houston Astros for Dave Adlesh and Dave Giusti.

1989- The St. Louis Cardinals released Dan Quisenberry.

1990- The St. Louis Cardinals released Ernie Camacho.

1990- The St. Louis Cardinals released Stan Clarke.



Eddie Dyer 1899

Joel Hunt 1905

Gary Blaylock 1931

Mike Fiore 1944

Bob Stinson 1945

Curt Ford 1960

Larry Leubbers 1969

Dmitri Young 1973

Ty Wigginton 1973