September 14 in Cardinals History

Cardinals History

1903 – In an afternoon game called because of unusual darkness, Giants’ pitcher Red Ames, making his major league debut, tosses a five-inning no-hitter against the Cardinals. The New York right-hander, who also will no-hit the Superbas on Opening Day in 1909 before yielding a single with one out in the tenth, will have both of his no-hit bids discounted after the 1991 change of rules no longer gives credit for no-hit performances in games played for less than nine innings or for contests where the first hit is given up in extra innings.

1915- The St. Louis Cardinals returned Jim Brown to Topeka (Western Association) as part of a conditional deal.

1941– With his 6-5 victory over New York at Sportsman’s Park, Cardinals right-hander Howie Krist finishes the season, 10-0. Spud’s perfect season establishes a National League record for the most wins in a season by a pitcher without a defeat.

1942– The Yankees win their 13th American League pennant when they beat Cleveland at League Park, 8-3. The Bronx Bombers will finish the season 103-51, nine games ahead of Boston, but will lose the World Series to the Cardinals in five games.

1971– The St. Louis Cardinals traded players to be named later to the Minnesota Twins for Stan Williams. The St. Louis Cardinals sent Fred Rico (September 14, 1971) and Dan Ford (minors) (September 14, 1971) to the Minnesota Twins to complete the trade.

1974– The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Barry Lersch from the Atlanta Braves.

1976- The Oakland Athletics purchased Ron Fairly from the St. Louis Cardinals.

2007– Ten year-old Bosox fan Griffin Whitman is disappointed when Yankees outfielder Shelley Duncan, when asked for an autograph, writes in the boy’s spiral-bound notebook, “RED SOX SUCK!” before signing his name. The 27 year-old flychaser, whose dad is the respected pitching coach of the Cardinals, is surprised by the negative reaction of the family.



Kid Nichols 1869

Jack Dunleavy 1879

Stan Williams 1936

Harry Parker 1947



Art Fromme 1906

Phil Redding 1912

Zinn Beck 1913

Taylor Douthit 1923

Jimmy Hudgens 1923

Mort Cooper 1938

Steve Waterbury 1976