September 19 in Cardinals History

1900– In the third inning, Bobby Wallace of St. Louis fielded a grounder and threw poorly to the plate. Brooklyn runner Duke Farrell slid under Wilbert Robinson’s tag and umpire John Gaffney called him safe. Robinson threw the ball at the arbiter, rushed up and struck him on the chest with his fist. Gaffney swung his mask at Robinson, just grazing his nose. Gaffney then ejected Robinson, who refused to leave the field. Manager McGraw backed him up. Gaffney forfeited the game after waiting the customary time. The spectators received their money back.

1931 A’s right-hander Lefty Grove becomes the first pitcher since 1920 to win 30 games when he beats the White Sox, 2-1. Only two more pitchers this century will win as many games with Dizzy Dean winning 30 for the Cardinals in 1934 and Denny McLain earning 31 victories thirty-four years later for the Tigers.

1955- Cubs’ infielder Ernie Banks hit his fifth grand slam of the season to establish a new major league mark, but Rip Repulski’s 12th inning homer off of Jim Davis proves to be the difference as the Cardinals beat Chicago, 6-5.

1957– The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Bob Kuzava from the Pittsburgh Pirates.

1957– The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Morrie Martin from the Baltimore Orioles.

1960– The St. Louis Cardinals purchased Duke Carmel from the Los Angeles Dodgers.

1960– The Philadelphia Phillies traded Don Landrum to the St. Louis Cardinals for Bob Sadowski.
2001 In the Cardinals’ 8-2 victory over Milwaukee at Busch Stadium, Albert Pujols drives in three runs in his first two at-bats with a first-inning groundout and a two-run double in the fourth, breaking the National League rookie-record with his 120th run batted in this season. The 21 year-old first baseman, who will finish the year with 130 RBIs, surpasses the mark established in 1930 by Wally Berger, who played for the Boston Braves.


Vern Benson 1924

Bill Sarni 1927

Buddy Schultz 1950


Tom O’Hara 1906

Gene Dale 1921

Pete Stanridge 1911

Chuck Miller 1913

Rolla Daringer 1914

Pea Ridge Day 1924

Ray Shapardson1924

Fred Morolewski 1953

Ella Burton 1958

Steve Huntz 1967

Joe HAgue 1968

Jose Cruz 1970

Alan Benes 1995