September 25 in Cardinals History

Cardinals History

1925– When Rogers Hornsby refuses to to play a game against the Robins‚ he is fined $500 by the Cardinals and suspended for the remainder of the season. The Redbird infielder claims to be feeling ill despite the opinion of the team doctor that he is able to take the field.

1932– At home, the sixth-place Cardinals end the season with a split of a doubleheader against Pittsburgh, having drawn 279,219 fans during the season to Sportsman’s Park. The Columbus Red Birds, the team’s minor league affiliate in the American Association, outdraws their parent club, attracting over 310,000 patrons, thanks to a new stadium, night games, and radio broadcasts.

1941– Combined with a Cardinal defeat, the Dodgers win their first pennant in 21 years when they beat the Boston at Braves Field, 6-0. Whitlow Wyatt throws a five-hitter and Pete Reiser hits a homer in the winning cause.

1953- Harvey Haddix, Cardinals rookie pitcher, wins his 20th game of the season.
1963 Team owner August A. Busch announces the Cardinals will permanently retire Stan Musial’s uniform number 6. ‘Stan the Man’ is also appointed the Redbirds’ vice president, a duty he’ll begin at the end of this season after completing his 22-year Hall of Fame career as a player.

1973– The St. Louis Cardinals traded Bill Stein to the California Angels for Jerry DaVanon.
1998 Sammy Sosa hits #66 and his final round-tripper of the season, a 462-foot blast at the Astrodome, to take the lead in the home run race. Less than an hour later, Mark McGwire will also hit his 66th, en route to his record-setting 70, in the Cardinals’ 6-5 victory over Montreal, tying the Cub outfielder in the historic home run race.
2000 For only the second time since 1900, three teams play in the same twin bill when the Indians beat the White Sox in the opener, 9-2, and then lose the nightcap to the Twins, 4-3 at the Jake. In 1951 at Sportsman’s Park, the Cardinals played host to the Giants, winning 6-4 before bowing to the Braves, 2-0.


Arnold Hauser 1888

Ray Busse 1948

Tony Womack 1969

Joel Pinero 1978


Heinie Mueller 1920

Walker Cooper 1940

Harry Walker 1940

Hal Rice 1948

Dave Ricketts 1963