September 29 in Cardinals History

1908– At Exposition Park, Pittsburgh blanks the Cardinals, 7-0. The last-place Redbirds are shut out for a record 33rd time, averaging more than one whitewash every five games.

1940– Cardinals season ends in third place with an 84-69 record. Johnny Mize has 137 RBI’s to lead the National League and he smacks 43 home runs.

1941– Musial gets five hits, steals a base and throws out two runners in the last game of the season. The Cardinals finished in second place.

1946– With an 8-3 loss to Chicago, the Cardinals fail to win the pennant outright and now must play a tiebreaker best-of-three series with Brooklyn.

Stan Musial makes his first and last pitching appearance in relief in 1952.

1958– Solly Hemus is traded to St. Louis by the Phillies in exchange for utility infielder Gene Freese. The 36 year-old former Redbird will become the Cardinals’ player-manager for the next three seasons, compiling a 190-192 record.

1962 Branch Rickey, returning to the Cardinals for the second time in his long career, is given the title of senior consultant for player development. In this role, the ‘Mahatma’ will have the power to make deals, but is asked by team owner Gussie Busch to confer with general manager Bing Devine on a regular basis.

1963 In his last game, Stan Musial helps the Cardinals beat the Reds, 3-2 at Busch Stadium, getting two hits in his final three at-bats. The ‘Man’ will retire with 3,630 hits, during his 22-year tenure with the Redbirds, collecting 1,815 in St. Louis, and the other 1,815 on the road.

Bob Gibson hits career home run #11 and his FIRST GRAND SLAM of his career which came off Gaylord Perry of the Giants in 1965.

1968 In a pre-game ceremony with Harry Caray as the master of ceremonies, the Cardinals honor retiring outfielder Roger Maris. The former two-time MVP with the Yankees, who has never had his accomplishments recognized in the Bronx, thanks the friendly Busch Stadium crowd and the team, remarking that his two seasons in St. Louis were his “most enjoyable years in baseball”.



Jake Westbrook 1977

Joe Thurston 1979



Eddie Zimmerman 1906

Bill McGee 1935

Eddie Kuzak 1948

Matt Pagnozzi 2009